Hi Folks
I have a question about SMTP mail from allowed IP ranges.
All mail we receive goes through MessageLabs. This means that all email has a banner inserted at the end of the message stating it has been scanned by MessageLabs. Today we received an email which was classified as spam, and which did not include the banner.
The MercuryS log shows the following for the email:
T 20080318 042741 47df2244 Connection from 61.145.143.171
T 20080318 042743 47df2244 EHLO tom.com
T 20080318 042744 47df2244 RSET
T 20080318 042744 47df2244 MAIL FROM:<mcu_5@tom.com>
T 20080318 042745 47df2244 RCPT TO:<info@apsarchaeology.co.uk>
T 20080318 042747 47df2244 DATA - 41 lines, 1298 bytes.
T 20080318 042747 47df2244 QUIT
T 20080318 042748 47df2244 Connection closed with 61.145.143.171, 7 sec. elapsed.
As the banner was missing, I checked the originating IP address against the allowed range specified in the MercuryS configuration dialog.
I have the following ranges allowed in MercuryS:
62.173.108.16 62.173.108.31
62.173.108.208 62.173.108.223
62.231.131.0 62.231.131.255
85.158.136.0 85.158.143.255
117.120.16.0 117.120.23.255
192.168.0.5 192.168.0.5
192.168.0.70 192.168.0.70
193.109.254.0 193.109.255.255
194.106.220.0 194.106.221.255
195.245.230.0 195.245.231.255
212.125.75.0 212.125.75.31
216.82.240.0 216.82.255.255
Here's a screenshot of the IP configuration in MercuryS:

Here are the headers:
X-SPAMWALL: Passed through antiSPAM test by SpamHalter 4.3.1 on apsarchaeology.co.uk (42488)
X-SPAMWALL: probability - 100.0%
X-SPAMWALL: SPAM detected!
Return-path: <mcu_5@tom.com>
Received: from tom.com (61.145.143.171) by apsarchaeology.co.uk (Mercury/32 v4.52) with ESMTP ID MG000160;
18 Mar 2008 04:27:46 -0000
Received: from YADA06[192.168.0.1] by tom.com
with SMTP id 2DB87FE5; Tue, 18 Mar 2008 12:27:39 +0800
From: "mcu_5" <mcu_5@tom.com>
Subject: [SPAM01] Electronic PCBA module design & Assembly
To: "info" <info@apsarchaeology.co.uk>
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="gb2312"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Reply-To: mcu_5@tom.com
Date: Tue, 18 Mar 2008 12:28:16 +0800
X-Mailer: Foxmail 4.2 [cn]
X-PMFLAGS: 34078848 0 1 7C08280C.CNM
I don't understand how Mercury was able to accept the mail from 61.145.143.171 when it is outside the allowed range of IP addresses. Am I missing something here?
Is there any further configuration I need to carry out to ensure that Mercury only accepts SMTP connections from the allowed ranges?
All help will be gratefully accepted.
Thanks