Community Discussions and Support
selective download acting weird

Hi folks. I've used selective download for decades. It's great! But recently when I tick Mark For Retrieval, the message is also deleted from the Gmail server. Has Gmail changed its rules? Is my copy of Pmail corrupted? Thanks, Bruce


Hi folks. I've used selective download for decades. It's great! But recently when I tick Mark For Retrieval, the message is also deleted from the Gmail server. Has Gmail changed its rules? Is my copy of Pmail corrupted? Thanks, Bruce

For me, mail retrieved using selective download is removed from the inbox and placed in All Mail. I do not have the "Delete mail on server..." setting enabled in my Gmail POP3 definition. The only suggestion I have is to check that setting.


For me, mail retrieved using selective download is removed from the inbox and placed in All Mail. I do not have the "Delete mail on server..." setting enabled in my Gmail POP3 definition. The only suggestion I have is to check that setting.

Hello:


... used selective download for decades. It's great!

Indeed it is, also used it from the very start.
As far as I know, there is no other (Linux or MS-able) email client that has it.
It seems that [Claws Mail] at some point (early on) had it but it was dropped.
BTW:
Were you able to fix the problem by checking the settings in the [POP3] definitions for that GMail account?


Best,
S.


Hello: [quote="pid:59280, uid:28440"] ... used selective download for decades. It's great! [/quote] Indeed it is, also used it from the very start. As far as I know, there is no other (Linux or MS-able) email client that has it. It seems that [Claws Mail] at some point (early on) had it but it was dropped. BTW: Were you able to fix the problem by checking the settings in the [POP3] definitions for that GMail account? Best, S.
edited 2 days ago at 8:43 pm

or me, mail retrieved using selective download is removed from the inbox and placed in All Mail. I do not have the "Delete mail on server..." setting enabled in my Gmail POP3 definition. The only suggestion I have is to check that setting.


Thanks Brian,
Yes my Gmail POP3 settings are the same as yours. And I can see the selectively retrieved item remains visible in All Mail, just with the INBOX label removed. But only a few months ago it would stay in Inbox, which for my workflow was a lot more convenient, as I could see it there on another device, and use, read or delete it when I chose. Now I have to !!remember!! to search in All Mail for it when I'm on another device. I suspect it's a Gmail rule change of some sort. I can learn to live with it.
Thanks for your good work! Bruce


[quote="pid:59281, uid:28772"]or me, mail retrieved using selective download is removed from the inbox and placed in All Mail. I do not have the "Delete mail on server..." setting enabled in my Gmail POP3 definition. The only suggestion I have is to check that setting.[/quote] Thanks Brian, Yes my Gmail POP3 settings are the same as yours. And I can see the selectively retrieved item remains visible in All Mail, just with the INBOX label removed. But only a few months ago it would stay in Inbox, which for my workflow was a lot more convenient, as I could see it there on another device, and use, read or delete it when I chose. Now I have to !!remember!! to search in All Mail for it when I'm on another device. I suspect it's a Gmail rule change of some sort. I can learn to live with it. Thanks for your good work! Bruce

Check this option in your Gmail settings. Mine is set to archive Gmail's copy. I changed it to the 'keep in inbox' option just for this image.


6add6178dbdb8


Check this option in your Gmail settings. Mine is set to archive Gmail's copy. I changed it to the 'keep in inbox' option just for this image. ![6add6178dbdb8](serve/attachment&path=6add6178dbdb8)

Hi Brian
Yes! Problem solved. Thanks for your excellent advice.
cheers, Bruce


Hi Brian Yes! Problem solved. Thanks for your excellent advice. cheers, Bruce
live preview
enter atleast 10 characters
WARNING: You mentioned %MENTIONS%, but they cannot see this message and will not be notified
Saving...
Saved
With selected deselect posts show selected posts
All posts under this topic will be deleted ?
Pending draft ... Click to resume editing
Discard draft