Community Discussions and Support
Newbie problem - user not known

> I am a total newbie to mercury mail. I installed it on a server using
> Scenario 1: Permanent internet connection. I did not create any
> mailboxes - all emails sent to this server are to be forwarded.

You must create at least one mailbox, the local user that handles the postmaster cannot be forwarded for obvious reasons.

>
> Using the alias configuration, I set up an email forwarder which
> redirects email sent to me@mydomain.com to
> myrealemail@myrealdomain.com. Using the Send mail message capability
> from within the Mercury console, I sent an email to me and it wound up
> in my inbox.

Much better is to use one of the tools to do this via forwarding

These are NOT a true MX host function since it does not queue and wait for the receiving system to be online to send the mail.  That said, WSMTPEx will keep retrying if the connection to the server and port cannot be made.  I have not tested how long it will continue retrying.   

1.  First of all is the simplest, you simply re-write the domain in the mercury.ini [Rewrite] section.

[Rewrite]
none-tstephenson.com: [192.168.1.3]

I really was surprised when this one worked since it truly simple and has been there
all along.  You learn something new every day.  The brackets are required when using
an IP address.  This forwards all mail for anyuser@none-stephenson.com to
anyuser@[192.168.1.3] using the normal Mercury/32 send process via port 25. 
Works quite well when using MercuryE, cannot work when using MercuryC unless the
IP address is a routable IP address.  You must re-boot Mercury/32 for each change
since this is only read at startup.  

2.  The second one is the daemon MercFwd and it essentially does the same thing as
the rewrite but this can be done dynamically by changing the domains section.  The
[Domains] entry of  

daemon:c:\mercury\mercfwd.dll;[192.168.1.3]: none-tstephenson.com