Oh jeez! This is embarrassing. Just figured it out. When I click the Restore Down, it DID restore down -- all the way down until the only thing visible was the 3-option tab (minimize, max, close).
When I passed the mouse over that tab, I saw that I could re-size to a visible window.
Now, after I closed that, all succeeding opens for New msg and Reply will default back to the most previously sized window.
You must have triggered some notion in me to try that. But in decades of using Windows, I don't know if I had ever seen what the minimum size of a "Restore down" window looked like. Now I know.
Thank you for the warning. I was not aware the address and password were in such a file as the session log file until it was suggested, and then they seemed to have disappeared between the discarded values from 2003 and today, which is why I thought there was no problem in pasting the text lines. I have deleted the lines mentioned, but now I can access my ISP profile to apply changes and shall be more careful in future.
I've looked in the PM Help menu and in the downloaded PMail Manual, but unfortunately it just refered to a password for encryption of messages not the server access password.
At some point I changed the font colors for quoted text in replies to some garish RED background and some othe rforeground (like blue) - and now I want to undo it but can't find where!
Does anyone know how to accomplish this please?
TIA
[/quote]
Which version of Pmail are you using? There was formerly a problem of a red background, which was resolved in v4.62.
There is a whitepaper in the downloads area of this Community that provides details about the files that can be copied to a new mailbox directory to restore data without affecting configuration. Find it here:
Mercury isn't involved. Involved are very big mail providers mostly using something like postfix on Unix/Linux - in discussed case mostly in Germany (OK - it's a german mailinglist; I'm not sure, if that problem was reported with gmail too).
David would be happy to sell licenses of Mercury to them - would be a nice income [:)]
Start a new thread with any specific questions to my comments as there are many folks who are way more knowledgeable than I about the inner workings that can corroborate, contest or clarify my comments.
Another way to check things out. Use Selective Retrieval on the File menu. Click the items that have a small file size for retrieval and when done click the Do It button. Then start selecting the larger messages one at a time, and repeat the Do It button. If you are lucky you will find a threshold file size.
You can then set the maximum file size to be downloaded in the POP3 profile (menu Tools/Internet Options, and click the POP3 tab. Then click the profile name that you use, and click Edit. Finally click the Download Control tab. Fill in the maximum filesize amount and click OK twice.
Any message larger than this amount will need to be downloaded via Selective Retrieval method.
I suggest starting a new thread beginning with an explanation of how the same messages are getting on the different machines. Are you sharing a mailbox? Is each machine downloading the same messages?
Also... Is IERenderer enabled? Are you running the same version of IERenderer on both machines?
Finally, explain what happens when a message that doesn't appear in the preview pane is double clicked. Does it open in a reader window?
FWIW, when a message won't display or an attachment won't open, the first thing to try is a restart of the PC.
I asume that Pegasus on close first closes the connection to your IMAP-Account and in consequence has to close the IMAP-box (in "modern" view) or all folderwindows (in "classic" view) depending on that connection. So the windowstate saved on close is only windows of local folders open. I never tried that as I swapped to "modern" view as soon as Pegasus had it available.
In Tools | Internet options | General you can create a session log which might provide some useful information.
Read the associated Help files before doing so.
You can post the log here if you wish but remove your username and password first. Be aware that these might be in Base64 format and not immediately apparent.