Community Discussions and Support
Hobbling along at the mercy of Internet companies.

I've loved using Pegasus Mail these past 30 years, since I found it 1991, but I now fear my emailing future - due to what the internet companies are imposing on users like myself in the supposed interests of safety and security.

Pegasus has always worked brilliantly for me but just recently my ISP (Yahoo) has begun refusing CCs and/or BCCs to certain addresses when I am using Pegasus. At such times Pegasus now shows me a message about alleged "pipelining". I've yet to work out how to get round this problem. I know, however, that it's to do with restrictions introduced by either the ISP or one or more of the tech companies.

For my Android device the closest email client I've found to Pegasus has been K-9, which I've been using for about 10 years, although it's nowhere near as sophisticated as Pegasus. But K-9 too has now begun presenting some emailing difficulties due to decisions taken by the tech companies.

At this moment I am finding the Yahoo app the most reliable email client in terms of immediate sending and receiving, but the Yahoo app is so pathetically basic, and like K-9 it doesn't allow me to manage all my incoming and outgoing emails in detail.

I have the Gmail app on my Android device too, and it's reliable, though not as rapid for me as the Yahoo app. But I have a dreadful feeling that Google has manipulated matters so that come the end of May, or some point thereafter, I may have to use Google's Gmail app only for trouble-free sending and receiving. One reason why being confined to using Gmail irks me is that I don't want Google being in possession of all my contacts information and every email I have sent and received until such time as I log into their site and delete material. I much prefer to keep things "local", on my own computer.