Community Discussions and Support
Reading Gmail in Peasus

Hello
I am trying to download (pop3) mail from gmail to Pegasus 4.80 but am told that there is something wrong with the username or password. See several places that it should be possible to do this. I have tested with both one- and two-step login to google. Anyone have a solution to this?

Hello I am trying to download (pop3) mail from gmail to Pegasus 4.80 but am told that there is something wrong with the username or password. See several places that it should be possible to do this. I have tested with both one- and two-step login to google. Anyone have a solution to this?

You basically have two options.

1. You can setup an app password with gmail and it will created a special password that is different than your actual password for Pegasus, and then have to set the password in Pegasus to use that password. So it creates a special password for Pegasus App only.I've been using the app password option for many years, and it continues to work (so far).
  2. You can download the 4.81 public beta, and it has the option to setup the new authenication system with Pegasus to Gmail. I have not done that yet, so don't know the details, but think it is suppose to automatically see on the upgrade to 4.81 that you have a gmail account and will prompt you to run the setup.https://www.pmail.com/betas.htm