Community Discussions and Support
Updating old Pegasus Mail version

I've been using Pegasus Mail for many years, and am currently on version w32-472.

I've had some health issues in recent years, and am aware that I'm behind on some of my system software, and am looking to upgrade.

I'm using Windows 10 Pro.

Is it sufficient to install w32-480 on top of what I have, or is it more complicated than that?

Also, my current ISP is having some difficulties, and I'm looking around to see what the alternatives are. Are there some recommended ISPs that will work with Pegasus Mail as a client?

I have my own domain that I would like to transfer, as part of the process of going with a new ISP.

Thanks.

I've been using Pegasus Mail for many years, and am currently on version w32-472. I've had some health issues in recent years, and am aware that I'm behind on some of my system software, and am looking to upgrade. I'm using Windows 10 Pro. Is it sufficient to install w32-480 on top of what I have, or is it more complicated than that? Also, my current ISP is having some difficulties, and I'm looking around to see what the alternatives are. Are there some recommended ISPs that will work with Pegasus Mail as a client? I have my own domain that I would like to transfer, as part of the process of going with a new ISP. Thanks.

Is it sufficient to install w32-480 on top of what I have, or is it more complicated than that?

There are no problems with updating (install over the top) however I suggest installing the 4.81 beta version. It fixed some bugs that were in 4.80. It has a couple of niggles that we can provide more details about if either are of concern:

1. Column width adjustments don't stick in maximized windows.
  2. When the Home and New mailbox locations are different, v4.81 may not see the SMTP, POP3, and/or IMAP configuration files.

I suggest doing a backup before upgrading just because it it a prudent thing to do.